Learning about Learning - Part 1

The plan for the next few weeks is to develop a deep understanding about machine learning and statistics. Even though I have used and applied machine learning to many projects, and have taken a number of offline and online courses on machine learning, I feel like I don’t have a visceral understanding of it and have barely scratched the surface. My goal is to have a strong theoretical foundation and avoid the “throw things at it and see what sticks” approach.

Stage 1: Build a strong mathematical foundation, be able to reason about probability from a measure theoretic perspective and fill in holes in math. The plan of attack is:

I will write more about Stage 2 in a future blog post and about tactics/lessons about effectively learning this material, provided I am able to get through it in a reasonable amount of time.

 
11
Kudos
 
11
Kudos

Now read this

How does Git work?

So what’s behind the abstractions of branches and commits in git? How are the files really stored? . At the heart of git is an object database, everything is an object, commits, files and folders, everything. Inside your repo, the whole... Continue →